“When we think of music for a solo instrument, it often implies an additional accompaniment, usually a keyboard.  One at a Time implies here the way a composer can explore the possibilities of a single instrument exploring its unique timbre, registral qualities, technique and other possibilities through structural and compositional style.  The nine works on this new release are by New York-based composer-conductor Douglas Anderson and cover music composed between 1975 to 2011.  Along the way, we are treated to a sort of snapshot of American contemporary music as it informs the style of Anderson…

Though the musical approaches may have similar launching points of motivic development, the resulting solo works here are all rather fascinating in their own way.  Listeners will likely gravitate to the ones that are closer to their personal preferences while also finding much to appreciate and explore in this interesting collection of chamber music.”

Share this post:

Browse More News & Press

  • October 7, 2022

    Performance Review: pupsbooks.com on Through/In

    “This a bold, atonal work perfectly suited to the shifting emotional mindscape of our age…It works very well.  It’s a true gesamtkunstwerk.”

  • October 1, 2022

    Performance Review: New York Theatre Wire on Images of Her, Through/In, Simonetta

    “Anderson expertly conducted both works, and the orchestra performed flawlessly throughout the evening.” Images of Her, the world premieres of Through/In by Douglas Anderson, and of Simonetta, by Larry Lipkis